TableTop Season 4 Quilt – Episode 3: Monarch

Monarch was the game featured in episode 3 of TableTop season 4. (Did I mentioned the blocks are going to come out of order?)

Monarch is a set collecting game designed by Mary Flanagan with art by Kate Adams. It’s a really neat game, especially since all the characters in the game are women. It seems very easy to learn and quick to play.

Brea Grant, Ashley Clements, and Satine Phoenix were the guests for the game. All three have been in previously been guests on TableTop and they are some of my favorite players. (Satine Phoenix is super adorable / fun. “I like clothes!”)

I chose to create the crown for the Monarch block. Points are called crowns in this game. Also, the crown on the cover of the box was visually appealing to me.

When I sewed the block, it seemed like it came out slightly too big. I wasn’t sure why, but it trimmed down to 10 inches without a problem.

I’ll have to look into what happened with the pattern though as I tend to reuse files. It’s possible I’m going to have the same problem with other blocks. I may have accidentally included the seam allowance as part of the block and then added the seam allowance again or something silly.

Anyway, block is done and I don’t have to worry about the pattern too much since it’s just for my silly TableTop quilt.

What block is coming next?

You’ll never know!

Until I post it!

Leave a Reply

