Finish: Harley Davidson T-Shirt Quilt

WARNING: This blog post contains swearing. If you are sensitive to or offended by that, please stop reading and enjoy this photo of Madison. Everyone else, please continue reading.

She was chilling like that for quite some time, so I guess it was comfy.

A friend of my lovely cousin Katie was looking to have a bunch of her Harley Davidson shirts turned into a quilt. Katie, being the awesome cousin that she is, recommended me. I said, “Sure! I can totally do that!”

I have been toying with the idea of trying to sell quilts instead of just gifting them. Seemed like a great idea to just jump right in and take my first commission from someone I don’t know personally!

I was so excited!

Well goodness, this could have been a much better photo…

Translation: I was a complete anxious wreck the entire time. (Actually, I think I might have anxiety about it for the rest of my life because my brain is awesome like that.)

Recurring thoughts while I made this quilt: Oh god, what if I fuck it up? She’s a stranger! She won’t just love it because she’s family and she loves me. She doesn’t even know me! What if I fuck up all her shirts? If it was just fabric, I could buy more but I can’t just run down to the quilt shop and get more Harley Davidson shirts! One of them is from Hawaii! I can’t do this for a living. I can’t even do this for extra money every now and then. I can’t make quilts for people. I can’t do this. I can’t. I can’t do this. WHY THE FUCK DID I FUCKING SAY I WOULD DO THIS? WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH ME?

I survived for the most part. I’m pretty sure a small piece of me died, but I think it was just a bit of my appendix, and we don’t really need those, right?

So it’s all good.

I think.

I like the back better than the front. Is that weird?

Anyway, since this was my first “real” quilt job, I tracked my time and materials carefully. I discovered that I am AMAZING at estimating material costs. I was within $5 of my estimate.

I also discovered that I am TERRIBLE at estimating (and valuing) time. I forget how long things like shopping, washing, ironing, cutting, etc. can take. I only estimated sewing time. Rookie mistake.

I also didn’t think to ask about the shirts themselves. I assumed I’d just be cutting out a bunch of shirt fronts. But there were designs on the backs (and sleeves!), some of which noted where the shirt was from. I couldn’t leave the locations off the quilt!

I didn’t think to ask if there were rhinestones on the shirts I would have to work around…

So yea… I didn’t charge near enough. My local quilt shop revealed that they charge twice as much and cap it at half as many shirts as I agreed to. So I basically charged 25% of what I should have charged. *face palm*

Oh well. It was the price we agreed upon. Money is nice, but knowledge is valuable too. Next time – you know, when I forget how much I panicked the whole process and think a “next time” is a good idea – I will have a much better idea of an appropriate price.

In the meantime, I think it turned out ok.

I’m pretty sure it did.

She says she loves it and will refer me to her friends, so I guess that means it’s all good.

Someday I won’t have anxiety about this stuff anymore, right? RIGHT?

Oh and my ban on baby quilts has been lifted. I remembered that I like to make baby quilts because they are small and easier to work with on my home machine. My coworker was happy because she still wants me to make a quilt for her impending first great-grandchild.

4 thoughts on “Finish: Harley Davidson T-Shirt Quilt

Leave a Reply

