Finish: A July Mini

I’ve been meaning to fill in the months I’m missing since I didn’t participate in all the Monthly Mini swaps. I came up with ideas for April and May, downloaded some patterns, and then didn’t make them. I have two words to say in my defense: baby quilts.

I won a quilt stand from Quilting Around the World for my minis though, so I thought I better make something nice to hang up for July! (Interestingly enough, I did make a July Mini last year as a surprise gift. So I’ve now made two July but couldn’t be bothered to make April or May. I guess I like making little patriotic quilts.)

The center block is Patriotic Heart by Sam Hunter of Hunter’s Design Studio. A thin half-inch border, and then a 2-in border from the scraps bin got me to a nice 12-in block.

Simple straight line quilting again – on an angle, just to mix things up.

There’s a class on Craftsy about using your walking foot to quilt more interesting designs. I think I might sign up for it since I’m clearly still avoiding free motion quilting.

Leave a Reply

