Finished: Quilts for Riley & Charlee

About 3 weeks ago, I received an invitation to the christening of my cousin’s two children: baby Charlee and big brother Riley.

About 2 weeks ago, I decided that I wanted to go to the christening (even though it’s six hours away) and that I wanted to make them quilts as a gift. They didn’t get quilts when they were born and it seemed a good time to rectify that.

Mom thought it was a great idea and pitched in for the materials.

Two quilts in two weeks when I’m working a full-time job (and have to wait for materials to come in the mail) was pushing it. Especially since I haven’t been feeling very quilty lately. I knew I’d have to keep the design simple, but I also wanted it to be special.

Special = personalized.

Riley & Charlee are fans of Mickey and Minnie. I ordered a cute print of vintage Mickey & Minnie. (Mickey & Minnie fabric is incredibly difficult to find around here. Not a single fabric shop in the area had ANY.)

I decided to just use it as a big panel, but to also personalize the quilts with their names. I could get their names done while I waited for the Mouse fabric to arrive. Then it was just a couple seams and the top was done!

To spell out their names, I used the Quirky Qwerty Alphabet by Jennifer of SewHooked. I loved the chunky look of the letters. They were very easy to work with.

One of these days, I really need to design my own alphabet. I know how to make patterns. I should start building my own library!

The quilting was mostly straight lines. Or straight-ish. I didn’t mark the lines, so they all sort of …go off at an angle… That was totally my plan though… because, I mean, when I think Mickey and Minnie, I don’t think all rigid and straight… I think wonky and organic! (Are you buying that? At all?)

I also quilted the outline of their names. I kind of wanted to not, because I didn’t feel like burying threads, but I thought it better to give the paper-pieced section a little extra stability. Kids’ quilts get washed a lot.

These two quilts each finish at approximately 40 x 50. So they count as larges towards my 2016 goal.

I’m going to be completely honest: I don’t love these quilts. I’m not sure what it is I don’t love, I just… don’t. I don’t know if it’s because I felt rushed or if because it’s not exactly what I pictured in my mind or what…

I’m just… dissatisfied with them. I keep noting in my mind everything I would change. I guess that’s just how it goes sometimes. I bet Picasso had paintings he didn’t love.

I got a text from my aunt on my drive back home from the christening/reception that everyone loved the quilts. So that’s good. That’s really what matters in the long run, right?

Leave a Reply

