Finished Quilt: Bookcase for B

IT’S DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONE!

I gotta figure out how to get better pictures of my finished quilts.

I was starting to think I’d never finish this thing. I started this quilt last April with the intention of gifting it to my friend for her anniversary in November… then, for Christmas instead… then that passed on by too!

But it’s done now! Despite all my procrastination and whining, the bookcase is done and ready for gifting. It’s actually ready to give for her birthday! Third event’s the charm, I guess.

I’m so super happy to be done!

This quilt finished at 58 x 72. It is the largest thing I’ve ever quilted on my machine at home. I did stitch-in-the-ditch quilting around all the books and knick-knacks.

So many starts and stops.

So many threads to bury.

I think if I ever make another bookcase quilt, it will be much smaller – maybe a baby quilt or wall hanging. It will also be quilted with an all-over meander on a longarm!

My favorite thing about the bookcase quilt is the silly fabric in the candy jar. They apparently didn’t get licensing, so all the brand names that aren’t obscured are spelled incorrectly. I giggle whenever I look at it.

Sneckers, 4 Musketeers, Betterfinger… Ah, legal loopholes.

I included a few patterns from other designers.

  • The owl is Hedwig from the Harry Potter Bookcase Quilt-a-long. The pattern was designed by Jennifer Ofenstein of Sewhooked and is available free for personal / non-profit use at Fandom in Stitches.
  • The hatching baby dragon was designed by Linda of Paper Panache. The pattern is available for sale at her website. I’ve been calling him Charles Herbert Eggington.

Fun fact: The label says I finished this on the 7th. I wrote that on there as a motivator to get working on it. It worked a little too well and I finished a few days early. Don’t tell anyone, k? I feel like I can totally trust you to keep my secret.

Special shout-out to my friend Veronica, who introduced me to the world of bookcase quilts.

Cats. Always climbing on your bookshelves.

That is one of the two quilts I was hoping to get completed in 2016 all finished! Have I mentioned that I’m super happy it’s finished?

Because I am.

Super. Happy.

 

4 thoughts on “Finished Quilt: Bookcase for B

Leave a Reply

