Eternal Darkness Rune: Xel’lotath

One of my favorite video games ever is Eternal Darkness: Sanity’s Requiem. I could talk about the game all day. I won’t, because A. that’s not what this blog is about and B. you’d be bored.

When I decided I wanted to start learning how to draft my own paper piecing patterns, I remembered the game. Mainly, I remembered the runes in the game, which I figured would be great designs to practice with. They are relatively simple designs.

I could use these easy designs to learn what I was doing!

There are 14 runes in all: 4 representing the ancients, 4 to target your spell, 5 actions for your spell, and the Power rune.

I started with the rune of my favorite ancient: Xel’lotath, the goddess of sanity / insanity.

Screen grab found here.

And here’s my block! It’s 6 inches finished.

I’m happy with how it turned out.

I have the pattern for the Chattur’gha rune drafted and hope to sew it up this week. Then on to drafting Ulyaoth and Mantorok.

Leave a Reply

