Finished Quilt: A January Mini

I finished this mini quilt at the end of October, but as it was for a swap and we weren’t allowed to mail early, I couldn’t show you!

The pattern I used is called Viking Penguin Olaf and is from Whims and Fancies.  I thought it was the cutest penguin ever! (Have I mentioned how much I love Soma’s patterns?)

I wasn’t sure if it was “January” enough so I searched online for a reason to use it.

My search paid off. According to this site, the full moon of January is Thurseblot! This Norse holiday celebrates Thor, whose power is used to drive back the frost Jotuns and allow spring to return to Midgard.

I have no idea if anyone still celebrates this, but I feel like a Viking Penguin mini quilt is a great representation of Thurseblot and it’s January-ness.

When I find a pattern I like, I’ll find a way to make it work for what I want. I encourage you to do the same.

This pattern had 3 one-piece sections, which usually throw me. I’ve decided to start basting the paper to the fabric and that’s been working well for me.

Eye placement was not noted in the pattern, but it easy enough to do on your own. Since this was for a swap, I embroidered the eyes. (If it was just for me, I probably would have used a Pigma pen.)

I’ve never tried to embroider a finished quilt block before and I’m not sure putting it in a hoop as if it’s a solid piece of fabric is the right way to do it. I managed though and I think it looks great.

In a fun turn of events, this little penguin is now living in Florida!

When I receive the mini that’s being made for me, I’ll make sure to show you!

One thought on “Finished Quilt: A January Mini

Leave a Reply

