Finished Quilt: A December Mini

I finished this mini quilt at the end of October, but as it was for a swap and we weren’t allowed to mail early, I couldn’t show you! It has arrived at its new home now so I can share.

I decided that just doing Christmas as the theme was boring. There are lots of holidays in December! So I chose the first four holidays I could think of to use for my mini: Christmas Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and Winter Solstice.

The Star of David pattern is from Whims and Fancies. Soma Acharya is one of my favorite designers, and you will definitely be seeing more W&F patterns in my work in the future.

The Crescent Moon block I used to represent Winter Solstice is from eQuiltPatterns. It was incredibly easy – just one section! They have other moon phases available too, if you’re interested.

The Christmas tree block was drafted on the fly by me. I didn’t even save a copy of the pattern for myself. Oops.

The Kwanzaa block is also by me! I had trouble finding a simple Kwanzaa block, so chose to draft my own. If you’d like a copy, just ask! At some point, I’ll figure out how to do the Craftsy thing and post it there, but for now, you’ll have to ask me for it.

Edit: The pattern is now available for download on Craftsy!

Leave a Reply

