TBT: Land of the Z… (2012)

This week’s Throwback Thursday is another small quilt. I make a lot of small quilts.

My coworker’s daughter was pregnant with her second child. My coworker commissioned a quilt for the new baby AND a small quilt for the baby’s older sister, Z.

I asked what Z was into and was surprised to be told that Z loved red, white, and blue. “So a patriotic quilt?” I asked.

“She would love that,” my coworker replied.

Z was about 5 or 6, so patriotic wasn’t what I was expecting, but hey – if that’s what she likes, then that is what she will get!

Stars and stripes seemed the most obvious thing to do – plus I could use solids, so it would cost a little less.

Stripes are easy, but how do I do stars? I didn’t want to applique the stars. I wanted them to be pieced.

They should have been paper pieced, but I didn’t really know what paper piecing was. I drafted a pattern in Microsoft Publisher (because that’s all I had) but I didn’t really know what I was supposed to do with it.  So I wound up making templates from that pattern.

Yes, I straight-up pieced those stars. I’m surprised they worked. The guy at the local quilt shop even asked where I got the pattern because they came out so well. Not gonna lie – I was ridiculously proud of myself.

I had it quilted at Four Pines using a pattern that says “Nana Loves You.”

The back is an all-over print of American flags, same as the binding.

I named the quilt “Land of the Z & Home of the Brave.” I’m corny like that.

The label is my favorite part. I asked my coworker to write a note to her granddaughter on a piece of paper – a “to” and “from” basically – that I could put on the label. Slightly confused as to how I was going to get her note on a piece of paper on to the quilt, she obliged.

I scanned her note and created a file I could have printed on fabric at Spoonflower. Her granddaughter will have a little note from her nana – in her nana’s own handwriting – for as long as she has her quilt.

(Some info on label has been censored. The circle of text around the handwriting is actually unbroken.)

Z was given her quilt at the baby shower. I was there and got to see how happy she was. She hugged me. (I wasn’t expecting that.)

Her cousin was also there. He asked my coworker if he could have a quilt too. She looked at me. “Well of course you can,” I said.

Leave a Reply

