A July Mini Surprise

My online quilting group is hosting another monthly mini swap for July, but I decided to not officially join. One of the ladies in our group is preparing to have surgery and thus cannot join the swap.

I thought it would be nice to make a July mini and send it to her as a surprise.

I didn’t get super creative with my interpretation of the theme. When I think of July, I think of Independence Day, as I would imagine most Americans do. (I suppose if you had a birthday in July, you might think of that first.)

This 12-inch mini was based on a wall hanging by Beth Maitland for the May/June 2014 issue of McCall’s Quilting Magazine. The original “Born on the Fourth” pattern measures 38.5″ x 40.5″ and can be purchased here (by purchasing an issue of the magazine).

I didn’t change much from Ms. Maitland’s original other than shrinking it way down and leaving off the border.

I plan to pop this in the mail on Friday so she receives it early next week. Hopefully this little surprise helps brighten my quilty-friend’s days while she is recovering!

Leave a Reply

